

Primordial gravitational waves

Kimmy Wu

2022-05-13 CMB-S4 Spring collaboration meeting Snowmass session



Snowmass WP:

Submitted to the Proceedings of the US Community Study on the Future of Particle Physics (Snowmass 2021)

Inflation: Theory and Observations

Editors: Guilherme L. Pimentel, Benjamin Wallisch and W. L. Kimmy Wu

Ana Achúcarro,^{1,2} Matteo Biagetti,^{3,4,5,6} Matteo Braglia,^{7,8} Giovanni Cabass,⁹ Emanuele Castorina,¹⁰
 Robert Caldwell,¹¹ Xingang Chen,¹² William Coulton,¹³ Raphael Flauger,¹⁴ Jacopo Fumagalli,^{7,15}
 Mikhail M. Ivanov,⁹ Hayden Lee,¹⁶ Azadeh Maleknejad,¹⁷ P. Daniel Meerburg,¹⁸
 Azadeh Moradinezhad Dizgah,¹⁹ Gonzalo A. Palma,²⁰ Sébastien Renaux-Petel,²¹
 Guilherme L. Pimentel,^{1,22} Benjamin Wallisch,^{9,14} Benjamin D. Wandelt,^{21,13}
 Lukas T. Witkowski²¹ and W. L. Kimmy Wu^{23,24}

arXiv: 2203.08128



Inflation: Theory and Observations

Endorsers

Lars Aalsma, Kevork Abazajian, Tom Abel, Aliakbar Abolhasani, Peter Adshead, Fruzsina Julia Agocs, Zeeshan Ahmed, Kazuyuki Akitsu, Yashar Akrami, Soner Albayrak, Mustafa Amin, Luis Anchordoqui, Adam Anderson, Behzad Ansarinejad, Tasos Avgoustidis, Anton Baleato Lizancos, Denis Barkats, Alexandre Barreira, Darcy Barron, Nicola Bartolo, Ritoban Basu Thakur, Daniel Baumann, Dominic Beck, Amy Bender, Charles Bennett, Bradford Benson, Jose Luis Bernal, Florian Beutler, Shubham Bhardwaj, Federico Bianchini, Colin Bischoff, Lindsey Bleem, James Bock, Christian Boehmer, Boris Bolliet, J. Richard Bond, Julian Borrill, Jonathan Braden, Rafael Bravo, Philippe Brax, Samuel Brieden, Thejs Brinckmann, Marco Bruni, Sean Bryan, Cliff Burgess, Christian Byrnes, Guadalupe Cañas-Herrera, Graeme Candlish, John Carlstrom, John Joseph Carrasco, Sean Carroll, Julien Carron, Jorge L. Cervantes-Cota, Sebastian Cespedes, Anthony Challinor, Tzu-Ching Chang, Clarence Chang, Jie-Wen Chen, James Cheshire, Jens Chluba, Susan Clark, Katy Clough, Timothy Cohen, Thomas Colas, Alex Cole, Edmund Copeland, James Cornelison, Nathaniel Craig, Paolo Creminelli, Ari Cukierman, Francis-Yan Cyr-Racine, Guido D'Amico, Neal Dalal, Ruth Daly, Anne-Christine Davis, Roger de Belsunce, Jacques Delabrouille, Nicholas DePorzio, Vincent Desiacques, Eleonora Di Valentino, Konstantinos Dimopoulos, Xi Dong, Olivier Doré, Carlos Duaso Puevo, Jo Dunkley, Ruth Durrer, Reza Ebadi, Lorenz Eberhardt, Josquin Errard, Angelo Esposito, Thomas Essinger-Hileman, Giulio Fabbian, JiJi Fan, Richard Feder, Chang Feng, Andrea Ferrara, Simone Ferraro, Pedro G. Ferreira, Elisa Ferreira, Jeffrey Filippini, Hassan Firouzjahi, Thomas Flöss, Emanuele Fondi, Simon Foreman, Sébastien Fromenteau, Nicholas Galitzki, Silvia Galli, Jose Tomas Galvez Ghersi, Mauricio Gamonal, Juan Garcia-Bellido, Martina Gerbino, Hector Gil-Marin, Neil Goeckner-Wald, Jinn-Ouk Gong, Victor Gorbenko, Peter Graham, Tanguy Grall, Daniel Green, Daniel Grin, Alessandro Gruppuso, Riccardo Gualtieri, Jon E. Gudmundsson, Federica Guidi, Eraj Gulraiz, Yi Guo, ChangHoon Hahn, Jiashu Han, Shaul Hanany, Jonte Hance, Will Handley, Daniel Harlow, Katrin Heitmann, Sophie Henrot-Versillé, Brandon Hensley, Thomas Hertog, Mark Hertzberg, J. Colin Hill, Kurt Hinterbichler, Renee Hlozek, William Holzapfel, Anson Hook, Sina Hooshangi, Shaun Hotchkiss, Selim Hotinli, Bin Hu, Kevin Huffenberger, Avodeii Ibitove, Sadra Jazaveri, Matthew Johnson, William Jones, Austin Jovce, Shamit Kachru, David Kaiser, Alba Kalaja, Renata Kallosh, Marc Kamionkowski, Jae Hwan Kang, Arun Kannawadi, Kirit Karkare, Brian Keating, Ryan Keeley, Stephen Kent, Ali Rida Khalifeh, Justin Khoury, William Kinney, Lloyd Knox, Nickolas Kokron, John Kovac, Ely Kovetz, Soubhik Kumar, Chao-Lin Kuo, Julius Kuti, King Lau, Louis Legrand, Qiuyue Liang, Andrew Liddle, Robert Lilow, Eugene Lim, Andrei Linde, Marilena Loverde, Kaloian Lozanov, Jiyu Lu, Yin-Zhe Ma, Xiao-Han Ma, Mathew Madhavacheril, Sagar Kumar Maity, Juan Maldacena, Ameek Malhotra, Karim Malik, Abhishek S. Maniyar, Gustavo Marques-Tavares, Jerome Martin, Liam McAllister, Evan McDonough, Scott Melville, Joel Mevers, Marius Millea, Vivian Miranda, Swagat Saurav Mishra, Zahra Molaee, Pierluigi Monaco, Gabriele Montefalcone, Paulo Montero-Camacho, Maria Elena Monzani, Jakob Moritz, Edward Morvan, Tony Mroczkowski, Suvodip Mukheriee, Moritz Münchmever, Elena Murchikova, Johanna Nagy, Mohammad Hossein Namioo, Laura Newburgh, Michael Niemack, Christian Nitschelm, Gustavo Niz, Yasunori Nomura, Mahdiyar Noorbala, Kourosh Nozari, Ken Olum, Alain Omont, Yuuki Omori, Giorgio Orlando, Ogan Özsov, Sonia Paban, Antonio Padilla, Lyman Page, Enrico Pajer, Zhaodi Pan, Zhaodi Pan, Kevin Pardede, Julio Parra-Martinez, Vivek Pathak, Subodh Patil, Hiranya Peiris, Patrick Peter, Matthew Petroff, Oliver H. E. Philcox, Michel Piat, Massimo Pietroni, Lucas Pinol, Anna Porredon, Karthik Prabhu, Akhil Premkumar, Clement Pryke, Davide Racco, Benjamin Racine, Alexandra Rahlin, Fazlu Rahman, Marco Raveri, Christian Reichardt, Mathieu Remazeilles, Xin Ren, Gerasimos Rigopoulos, Antonio Riotto, Simón Riquelme, Natalie Roe, Diederik Roest, Ashley Ross, Sandip Roy, John Ruhl, Pankaj Saha, Noah Sailer, Mairi Sakellariadou, Benjamin Saliwanchik, Domenico Sapone, Murali Saravanan, Nikolina Sarcevic, V. H. Satheeshkumar, Marco Scalisi, Emmanuel Schaan, Koenraad Schalm, Fabian Schmidt, Benjamin Schmitt, David Seery, Emiliano Sefusatti, Neelima Sehgal, Leonardo Senatore, Edgar Shaghoulian, Sarah Shandera, Mikhail Shaposhnikov, Chia-Hsien Shen, Stephen Shenker, Blake Sherwin, Garv Shiu, Joseph Silk, Maximiliano Silva-Feaver, Eva Silverstein, Sara Simon, Charlotte Sleight, Anže Slosar, Wuhyun Sohn, Adam Solomon, David Spergel, Antony Stark, David Stefanyszyn, Andre Steklain, Radek Stompor, Michael Strauss, Ganesh Subramaniam, Raman Sundrum, Aritoki Suzuki, Spyros Sypsas, David Tacero, Alireza Talebian, Ting Tan, Massimo Taronna, Grant Teply, Avngaran Thavanesan, Peter Timbie, Andrew Tolley, Cvnthia Trendafilova, Enrico Trincherini, Matthieu Tristram, Oem Trivedi, Mark Trodden, Yu-Dai Tsai, Gregory Tucker, Gansukh Tumurtushaa, Gustavo Joaquin Turiaci, Cora Uhlemann, Caterina Umilta, Jean-Philippe Uzan, Jorinde van de Vis, Jan Pieter van der Schaar, Alexander van Engelen, Thomas Van Riet, Mariana Vargas-Magaña, Vincent Vennin, Clara Vergès, Filippo Vernizzi, Nelson Videla, Digvijay Wadekar, Bob Wagoner, Yidun Wan, David Wands, Dong-Gang Wang, Gensheng Wang, Frank Wang, Yi Wang, Zun Wang, Scott Watson, Duncan Watts, Zachary Weiner, Denis Werth, Gilles Weymann-Despres, Michael Wilson, Mark Wise, Edward Wollack, Zhong-Zhi Xianyu, Zhilei Xu, Zhao Yaqi, Cyndia Yu, Matias Zaldarriaga, Ivonne Zavala, David Zegeve, Cristóbal Zenteno, Yunlong Zheng, Zihan Zhou, Sivi Zhou, Houri Ziaeepour and Andrea Zonca

CMB B-mode polarization is window to PGW

Perturbation of metric at inflation

tensor perturbations

scalar perturbations Classical waves generated



Hot

CMB polarization type generated





PGW: theoretical significance

- Tensor metric fluctuations during inflation are primordial gravitational waves.
- Observation of a non-zero tensor amplitude (tensor-to-scalar ratio *r*).
 → Glimpse of quantum gravity at work.
- In simple models:
 - \rightarrow Related to energy scale of inflation,
 - \rightarrow Constrains distance traversed by the inflaton.



PGW: theoretical targets

• $r \gtrsim 0.01$:

- Super-Planckian inflaton field excursion,
- Evidence for approximate shift symmetry in quantum gravity.
- $r \gtrsim 0.001$:
 - Evidence for the simplest models of inflation which naturally n_s predict observed ns and have a characteristic scale > M_p .

(cf. Starobinsky's R² inflation, Higgs inflation, α -attractors, ...).

• Non-detection:

- Vast restriction of inflationary model space,
- Insights into physics at very high scales.

CMB-S4 will detect or rule out targets



CMB-S4